Campus Alive

January 18, 2010

Loving in Obedience, Making a difference…

Filed under: CA Pictures,CA Reports,CA Service,CA Updates,Please Note,Testimony — campusalive @ 1:29 am

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this; love your neighbour as yourself. There is no commandment greater than these…

January 14, once again we gathered as one under the blessings of the Lord to welcome the great year of LOVE as the new theme for this year is, ‘Loving in obedience, Making a difference’. There were a lot of new faces among the old ones. The atmosphere was filled with happiness and the warm feeling of being ‘home’. Apart from the friendly laughter and joyful smiles; there were also obstacles, tests and miracles… Let’s hear what they have to say…

'i-need-the-toilet game'! hahaha! just kidding... it was a 'grouping' game conducted by Eileen!

________________________

Hi, my brothers and sisters in Christ!! Peace is with all of you. The CA on 14th of January 2010 was totally great! The worship team was truly awesome and the sermon was very interesting too. Caroline had asked me to write a testimony about CA and here I am to share a miracle which had happened to our refreshments team that night as we felt really blessed and ought to share this story to all of you. =)

As we all know, Elfira and Michele were chosen to prepare refreshments for that night. They bought fruits (two watermelons and two honeydews) and a bottle of syrup for the refreshment. On the way to CA, all of us wondered if the fruits were enough for everybody. Some of them said that they would not be enough as the watermelons and the honeydews were small. As soon as we arrived there, seven of us (four, offered to help) quickly started to cut the fruits. Suddenly, Grace told me that the fruits were not enough for everybody (by that time, we have not yet finish cutting the fruits) and we started to feel worried because everyone had the same thought too.

Then, when  I told them about the story which Christ had multiplied five loaves of bread and two fish to feed five thousands people in Bethsaida (Luke 9:10) and about twelve baskets of leftover, we started to pray so that the same miracle will happened to us too. And so it was!! After we finished cutting all the fruits, we managed to prepare ten plates of them!! The result was really unbelievable as we thought we could manage to prepare about six plates only. We were really amazed by the God’s works and we praised God for helping us that night. The fruits were perfectly enough for everybody and thank God for the miracles. I would like to thank Elfira and Michelle for preparing the refreshments and I appreciated the helps from my friends who were willing to help–Cindy, Grace, Connie and Ellisa–us that night. It was so enjoyable and hope so too to the CA comers. Hope you guys really enjoyed the last CA and decide to come again for the next CA…
P/S: Calling to all Christians to pray for Philip’s recovery. May God hears our prayers and heals Philip.
Thank you and God bless.


Love,
Ivy

the still standing winners...!

________________________

I remember going to the last Campus Alive meeting of 2009. Actually, that was the first time I attended CA. I thought it was going to take a long time before CA starts again for the year 2010. But in a blink of an eye, 14th of January 2010 (the first CA meeting for this year) has already come and passed by!

What an interesting message Pastor David Tham gave us. It was about the greatest commandment. Jesus said “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with your entire mind”. This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: “Love your neighbor as yourself”.  What I like about CA is that we not only worship God but we fellowship with one another. Those two are equally important to make life meaningful and of course, to obey God’s law.

I would like to encourage each and every one of you to come for CA and use your specific abilities and talents to worship and to serve Him in your own way. =)

Shaun

________________________

Being already a Christian, I realized that, as I grew older (and somehow more matured); I needed to find more ways to hold my conviction for Christ, our Lord. Then, one day, a friend sent me a sms saying, “Hey, join Campus Alive. It’s a good way to discover Jesus.” And so, the continuation in my spiritual began….. As the new year kicks in, I hope the theme of LOVE will share with others what God has given unto us….

Rouffino

________________________

Hi, my name is Rohan and I’m currently studying in INTEC, doing my American Degree Foundation Program (ADFP) . I am of Gujerati descent. Although my dad is of Christian faith, I have never been properly exposed to the religion. All that changed when I joined CA. I wasn’t sure what to expect on my 1st day, but the warmth and kindness of the servants of God made it easy for me to fit in. Although I have not formally accepted Jesus as my savior, I still make it a point to attend CA regularly. CA has truly been an eye-opening, thought-provoking and mind-boggling experience for me. I am blessed to have been given the opportunity to participate in the CA, I hope that more people will realize the power of worship and attend CA meetings more regularly.

Rohan

Pastor David; the Greatest Commandment

________________________

It had been a long week of preparation just for that one night, for the very first Campus Alive gathering for the year 2010. Planning and preparation is no joke. And I was thinking to myself, “I’m going to do this for one year. Lord, give me strength.”

Finally on the night of 14th of January 2010, we stepped into the New Year together as a family: The family of Campus Alive. As transport started, more and more people began gathering at the rendezvous point. It was certainly a wonderful sight, but at the same time, a scenario which tingles the panic nerves of some. But then again, we did not need to fear, for God was and is in charge. In fact, transport turned out to be really smooth and punctual. =)

CA started. We had awesome emcees and kicked off the night with simple yet fun games from Eileen. All this time, the LCD projector was simply not working. Our LCD dude, Bryan, had been trying to fix it since he came, and somehow he just could not get it to do what it does: project. As we decided to proceed with worship, God showed once again that He was still in charge. The moment the worship stepped on stage, the LCD screen blinked to life. How about that for a New Year blessing?

Following worship, Pastor David gave us an overview of the theme for the year based on Mark 12:30. We do not merely love God by saying so. Rather, we do it with all our hearts, minds, souls and strength. And that is basically our whole being. And with that, we love our neighbors because God has commanded us to do so.

It’s amazing how God has shown us that the year 2010 is going to be a year of Love. It’s amazing how He shows His love to us in so many ways, most of all, through Jesus Christ His Son. And guess what? God has given CA a vision for the year 2010: Loving in obedience, making a difference. =)

A great start for a great year. Thank you, Jesus!

Still amazed by His love,

Jan =)

check out CA latest pictures at

http://s587.photobucket.com/home/CampusAlive

3 Comments »

  1. Woah! Rohan…

    You have such an awesome name.. =D..

    I guess i’ll name my kids Gondor or Shire in the future.

    =D

    Calvin Lim – Ausmat 18

    Comment by Calvin Lim — January 18, 2010 @ 7:39 am

  2. WELL DONE guys and girls :D

    Comment by Cedric — January 26, 2010 @ 1:54 am

  3. thank you, cedric! ^^,

    Comment by campusalive — January 26, 2010 @ 5:49 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

