Campus Alive

October 20, 2011

The Private Room.

Filed under: Please Note,Testimony — campusalive @ 5:26 am

Its funny looking back, I have never felt nor seen the significance of this blog till now. I regret not having to put my utmost effort of fully utilizing this sphere of media to spread God’s daily bread to the people. Glad to see the new Board of Directors picking up the pace to keep this blog alive. Sorry for crashing the blog without informing you guys; I really wanted to share something of great importance to you but posting it on Facebook seemed too inappropriate; you can imagine the look on my face when I realized how you guys were still using the same password and username. Praise the Lord for providing His way!

Hello, my beautiful people from home, (:

I woke up today feeling extremely drained. In the midst of having my midterms, with projects and papers up to my neck this week, the tension mounted and it didn’t help that I’m slowly beginning to feel the pangs of homesickness hitting me day to day. Reinventing my life here, making new friends, finding a new home – nothing seemed harder than to find God in this place where I now live, alone and all by myself. It has been a month or so since I’ve reached Los Angeles, but nothing has yet to register to be “familiar” to me. Everything is (still) so new, and so strange to me. Meeting new people and learning about the many lives of others is what I do every single day. And finally today it hit me. I got out of bed this morning, I felt the stark emptiness filling up the gaps deep in my heart. I didn’t know who I was, what I was supposed to do, how I was supposed to live my life. But God did. I sat down in the dark on my bed, with an overwhelming urge to cry and go home. Praying in silence because my roommate was still asleep, I sought Him to guide me. I prayed for answers – and I was given one. Not quite knowing what I was supposed to do, I went to my weekly bible studies on campus, and there, I was given my answer: Matthew Chapter 6.

I was given this material that said,

SHUT THE DOOR

The Lord said, “But you, when you pray, enter into your private room, and shut your door and pray to your Father who is in secret; and your Father who sees in secret will repay you.” The private room is the place you fellowship with God in secret; it is the place where you pray without trying consciously to exhibit your prayer. This means to shut out the world and shut yourself in. In other words, it is to ignore all the outside voices and to pray to God quietly and alone.

I was rendered speechless at how apt and precise God conveyed his message to me through his words. Even more, as we got into reading Matthew 6 out aloud.

“Therefore I tell you: do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink, or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?” Matt 6:25

“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matt 6:27

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” Matt 6:27

“So do not worry, saying “What shall we eat? or “What shall we drink?” or “What shall we wear?” Matt 6:31

“Therefore do no worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” Matt 6:34

He knew and He delivered me from my helplessness just like that. The power of prayers really manifested before me, and I was reminded by how we so often ask ourselves, if God knows what we need before we ask, then why should we even ask? Its simple. My bible (New International Version) answered the query by asserting, “Prayer was never intended to inform God of something he doesn’t know. The point of prayer isn’t merely to get what we want, but to NURTURE OUR RELATIONSHIP WITH GOD. As a result, the prayer can change US rather than the SITUATION, reinforcing our confidence in our God’s sufficiency and realigning our will with His will.”

So turn to Him, build your own private room and strengthen your relationship with God by prayer. For when a true man of God prays continuously for His name, kingdom, and will, the Lord takes care of the man himself. Hallelujah.

Best,

Bell.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

