Campus Alive

November 29, 2011

The Cobbler and His Shoes

Filed under: Please Note — campusalive @ 12:03 am

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. (Psalms 139:14)

Early evening, the student left home with a pair of new shoes. Not brand new, but it was on his feet for the first time. No sense of pride, but just hope that the previous pair had held on a little longer. Rain trickled down the windows of the bus; he shuts his eyes to catch a wink or two.

But at last, no sooner after he hops off the bus, the sole gave way! Irked, disappointment and frustration filled him, maybe even slight anger. He asked around, he searched around, he walked around. And there he was, the Cobbler, lonely, skillfully mending his shoes. His customers’ shoes, treated with such care, just like his own shoes.

The student skips across a puddle, treaded towards the Cobbler. The shoe can be mended, he was relieved. He sat down, observing. The Cobbler was quick, his hands darting here and there. Shoes and soles, brushes and glue, needles and strings. Cars zoomed by, people walked by, rats dashed by, cockroaches scrambled by, time slipped by. The world was busy, the Cobblers hand was busy. Nothing slowed down, everything was fast. Yet there was silence. And peace.

Had a chat with the Cobbler. He was happy. His life was simple. He left Aceh in 2007, to find a job here. His family was affected by the 2004 tsunami. But the huge waves did not sweep his passion away. Neither did it sweep his character away. Caring and considerate, he was thankful that he has been given the second chance.

Late evening, the Cobbler had worked over time. Darkened sky, lit city. The job was done, the Cobbler packed. The student paid the fare, bought him dinner. The money was worth seeing the smile and gratitude on the Cobbler’s face. Back in hostel, the student wonders if he will meet the Cobbler again.

The Cobbler love his work, he is gentle with his shoes. Wear and tear of life may wear them away, but he knows what to do with them; he knows how to mend them. They are his masterpiece. The Father in Heaven is no different. The Cobbler is His masterpiece. Wear and tear in life had worn him out, but He knows what is best for him, He knows how to mend him. He loves His work, He is gentle with him. The Father is the Cobbler’s COBBLER.

As for the student, he wonders no more. Meet the Cobbler or not, he knows that He watches over him. In Him the Cobbler will find rest. And PEACE.

Psalm 139

1 You have searched me, LORD,
and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
you, LORD, know it completely.
5 You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you.

19 If only you, God, would slay the wicked!
Away from me, you who are bloodthirsty!
20 They speak of you with evil intent;
your adversaries misuse your name.
21 Do I not hate those who hate you, LORD,
and abhor those who are in rebellion against you?
22 I have nothing but hatred for them;
I count them my enemies.
23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

Zhong Xiang

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

