Campus Alive

December 3, 2011

The Junior Committee’s First Self-run CA (14 Oct 2010)

Filed under: Please Note — campusalive @ 11:42 pm

It was 25 September 2010, a normal, uneventful Saturday morning, when my phone rang. “Hello, Zhong Xiang, I have something VERY important to ask you…” Jien Lee’s voice echoed in my head throughout the whole weekend, it still does now. So here I am standing before God and man, my first trial. Haha! Dramatically exaggerating…

Coordinating the 1st CA event as a leader surely has its challenges. Not only me, but everyone in the new committee. And how did it turn out? I shall say that it was quite an adventure indeed. It started with a couple of meetings, many phone calls, and much more confusion, excitement, anticipation, suspense and comedy, but God was there for us!

“No one will be able to stand up against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:5, 9)

Yes, God saw us through it.

Even before the clock struck 6pm, scholars start gathering from far and wide (Hallelujah!) at the famous Akasia bus stop, and so the “human trafficking” began. All went well until Jayn told me that one of the vans was not available so soon, and I went: “WHAT!?” It is last CA of the month/semester/year, we’re expecting higher attendance, people are flowing in, and now she tells me this? Not long later, Jan called me to say that a MSU guy who wants to go to CA was stranded in Seksyen 2 McD, the Cendana van was suppose to pick him up. And worse of all, we lost contact with Matthew (the other transport coordinator, who so happen to be the one fetching the Cendana boys). But thanks to God’s grace, the last shuttle left about 7:15pm.

Arriving at New Life, I was greeted by the sight of Matthew struggling to park his van (it kind of went too close to the other car, 5cm max). I explained to the growing bunch of uncles that it was not that easy, as that van had some problems with the gear. Yet they tried to be smart, “interrogate” us if we even had license, gave a lot of suggestions but sneered at each other’s comments by calling them fools, and one even took the wheel, he failed to help too.

 “He mocks proud mockers, but gives grace to the humble.” (Proverbs 3:34)

In the end, with much anxiety, perspiration, and of course prayer, we got that settled on our own too. Talk about God being an AWESOME Father…

I spend some time trying to shoo people upstairs (I understand that it is very difficult when we have to say goodbye to good food). Praise God that there were quite a large number of newcomers, but Tricia, Sing Kiet, and the ushers quickly looked into that with those broad smiles on their face. While Simren and her team were bustling around the kitchen, Veronica was conducting some AMUSING ice-breaking game which ended up with people walking around with each other’s shoe high up in the air. Worship was simply amazing, thanks to the Senior band and Alan who handled the PA. Just when I was about to heave a sigh of relieve, a few pretty ladies walked up to me with another shocking news… (the frown which immediately surfaced on my forehead even fogged my memory of who those girls are)

“Pastor David will be here only after 20 minutes, think of a way to stall them!” I quickly dived into my mental entertainment database and thank God that he gave me enough resources to pull through. I got Philip to conduct his trademark Pictionary game, and was glad to see the crowd had a really stress-free time trying to express their imagination and creativity. A few moments later, someone told me that Pastor had arrived, and right after the MCs, Royston and Rachel announced his arrival, another person told me that Pastor went to the restroom. “Oh no, you gotta be kidding me!” Well, this time Shu Yoong was quick enough to suggest that we celebrate the October, November and December birthdays first, so that was it.

Pastor shared on “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” based on Matthew 6: 25-34. Next on the list was the farewell for the AUSMAT and ALG seniors. The seniors shot an undeniably Hollywood-standard video titled “The Last Run” starring the Oscar-winning Royston and a senior Broadway cast, voice by Luke and XXX (didn’t get to see who the other guy was). Then there was a short presentation of Mark Harris’ “Find Your Wings” (or Cari Kepak Kau) by both the senior and junior committees. The atmospheres fluctuated around laughter and tears when the outgoing seniors shared their “final words”.

After the wonderful sushi refreshment, Matthew, Jerald, and Jessica started sending the kids home. After witnessing Kenneth single-double-triple-quadruple-quintuple-check that all switches are off and there floor is dust-free, I went down to drive the last shuttle to Cemara. It was near 11:45pm when we arrived, the gate was closed, and we went: “Whoops~” But as the Psalmist say: “Before a word is on my tongue, you know it completely, O Lord. You hem me in – behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.” (Psalm 139:4-5) The gracious Lord only allowed the guard to “torture” Melvin a little by asking him to sing “UiTM Di Hatiku” because forgot his student ID.

Well, all is over now, and I drove back to New Life, expecting to have a good night sleep and sweet dreams soon. But to my “dismay and HORROR”, Jessica didn’t know that she was supposed to come back for one more round to pick up the drivers! (actually there were another 7 Cendana boys with us) So there we stood, 10 pathetic scholars left in the cold and dark street, so hungry, so lonely… At that moment, Pastor David came by to pick us up! Apparently, someone got in touch with him to inform him about our terrible predicament. And so when the car pulled up the driveway in front of the Cendana guardhouse, the time was way pass 12:30am. We walked in to our respective rooms, and amazingly, the guard didn’t even look up!

This is how I shall end my brief account of the rather turbulent 14 Oct 2010 CA (will be able to write a book if I was to go into every detail). But the conclusion is: Mountains may tremble, oceans may roar; but no matter what happens, don’t worry, trust it to God in prayer, and be happy.

 “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matthew 6:33)

Thank you once again to Shu Yoong, Xiu Ying, Melvin, Sing Kiet, Tricia, Kenneth, Yoke Ping, Alan, Shiau Xian, Bell, Caryn, Simren, John, Jayn, Matthew, Huey Fern, Luke, and the SENIORS for making this CA a huge success.

Zhong Xiang

1 Comment »

  1. Oh wow. Your telling of that night made me relive it all through again in my head. I remembered parts of it vividly. So so proud of you all to have come so far down the road. I knew you’d do good. Well done, juniors (now seniors)! Well done. Thank you for giving. Our Lord is glorified. =)

    New committee, I don’t know you personally, but I trust that God will use you guys mightily for 2011/2012.

    Jesus is the centre of it all.

    God bless! =)

    Comment by Jan — December 4, 2011 @ 9:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

