Campus Alive

April 28, 2012

Grow and Change in FAITH

Filed under: Please Note — campusalive @ 10:26 am

Campus Alive has always kept my campus life alive. I never regretted for being His servant. In fact, I made a promise, to serve Him forever. (Long story, even before I came to INTEC)

I first heard of Campus Alive during the Minggu Mesra Siswa from my seniors. I couldn’t really recall my first impression to CA.

What kept me going is not so much of the place, or the food, or the people, or the music, or because everything was so new to me, but just the right feeling – the sense of belonging, the comfort that a family could give.

I tried to give my best in serving. I would get frustrated over the small mistakes that I made when I served in praise and worship team, or in Campus Revolution, or in driving because all my skills and talents are not what I deserved, but what I owed God when He gave them to me for free. He could’ve made me a lesser man, but now here I stood, a complete soul, so I always ask for God’s favor to teach me how to utilize what he has given me, even my weaknesses. He humbled me.

What I learned the most from CA is that when God has chosen you, it means you and no one else. Whenever I’m at the brink of giving up, whether it’s in academics, at a tough crossroads, in relationship problems, or any challenges, I will always be reminded of this – why did God put me in that situation in the first place? I was first an activist in voluntary work before He put me in Mission Ministry. But it was not always something that you’re already equipped with. I never really read bible before God put me as the leader for Campus Revolution.

When God chooses you, He said, “Go and I will show”.

During the Torch Run Session on the last CA, I wrote my story and put it in a box, together with others. I remembered this line the most – “Even the darkest darkness cannot put off a single light source.” A light is meant to light up a dark place. I caught this and began living out my principles, even if sometimes I felt like I am the only one. People observe what Christians are doing. Ask my roommates and they’ll tell you that I rarely sleep. As most of my friends have more than enough time to finish their work, I would spend my weekends in church, in volunteering, or in people’s ministry. What kept me going is just the satisfaction of giving. People often ask me, why would I make my life so hard? Well, Jesus didn’t complain that it was hard when He died for me on the cross.

After the Jubilee Torch Run, we were asked to write down things that we couldn’t stand and ways we are going to deal with them. I always have issues with discipline. The guards hated me for that and I can’t stand some of the INTEC rules. Although I was self-righteous about that, I chose to change myself for God, because I’m holding a banner under His name. It would not be fast, but I choose to follow what Jesus would do.

I’m a changed man. I will keep changing to be better, for Christ.

Jasson Shin

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

