Campus Alive

August 10, 2012

The Bible, Pastor π, 3 Big Qs & etc.

Filed under: Please Note — campusalive @ 6:12 pm

The Bible, Pastor π, 3 Big Qs & etc.

2nd August 2012

“Embarking on another journey for knowledge.”

I’m tired, and all I wanted to do is to collapse on my bed back in the dorm and sleep till the next sunrise. But I found myself sitting in the backseat of a van heading for Kota Kemuning’s church for the weekly iCA, I was there, because this was “Something” that I wouldn’t want to miss. As the van pulled away from the curb, the tiredness that weighed on me slowly faded away and was replaced by the excitement and anticipation for the coming gathering. When the van drove past a Tamil Primary school, we waved at adorable Primary school kids in a packed school van and they waved back at us with equal enthusiasm. That made me smile. Along the way, the van stalled a few times. But, thanks to the senior’s awesome driving skill, we got there in one piece.

We took our dinner at a hawker centre before heading “Up” to the church, and here’s where the Scary Lift came in… (Advice: Don’t take the left lift, just don’t.) We got there early, so we had some time to spare to explore the place. Sometime later, people started to arrive in small groups, but still, not everyone’s there yet. And so, to keep us entertained, there were some games. They were fun and I especially liked the fact that everyone’s in really high spirits. It’s like that you could almost feel the energy vibrating in the air, and it’s contagious.

Moments passed, and finally everyone’s accounted for. First things first, worship and praises. This time around, Rachel, Cindy and Sharon’s going to lead.  They talked about “Believe & Hope” and to trust in ourselves in whatever we do, for God is always there with us, every step of the way. Their words were really uplifting and I want to thank them for sharing. They really meant a lot to those who are in need of them.

Next, we had a small ceremony to welcome the newcomers, which involved Chokis. C:

Then…

*drum rolls*

Here comes the highlight of this week’s iCA, Pastor π’s (Mr. Chew Phye Keat) talk.

He enlightened us on various questions regarding the validity of the Bible, the ways to share the precious knowledge of the Bible with others and some valuable life lessons. He talked about the 3 Big Questions that we must, if not should at least ask ourselves, once, in our lifetime, preferably in the early years of our lives, instead of when we’re nearing the end of our journey called life.

 “Who am I?” “Why am I here?” “Where am I heading?”

These were the questions. (Pause for a while here, chew on these questions. You may proceed to do some soul-searching after you finish reading all this. C:)

“The unexamined life is not worth living.”

He quoted a great philosopher, Socrates. What he said was true in every sense, that in this life, we need to understand our goals and reflect ever so often on the things we do. Cause YOLO “You Only Live Once” so, make the best of it!

Pastor π possessed a really admirable personality. He would joke ever so often in his talk, to keep us entertained and focused. And I love the way he presented the subject of the talk. He shared with us for more than an hour’s time, and here I want to thank him again on behalf of everyone, for his Wonderful and Informative talk.

After the closing prayers, we went for supper, prepared by Rachel and her team, another big Thank You to you all Awesome people. The cakes were memorable.

It was almost 11 pm when we got back, tired as I am, I felt satisfied. It’s really fulfilling to be able take part in gatherings such as these, and now iCA takes up a special place in my heart and mind. And I want to thank, my roommate, Trester, for inviting me to my first ever iCA and everyone else, for making iCA AWESOME.

Ich bin glϋcklich! “I am happy!” :D

Ketchup addict,

Michelle F.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

